Hornets Take Top Honors in OEC Postseason Awards Selection

Hornets Take Top Honors in OEC Postseason Awards Selection

The Cypress College softball team won their fifth consecutive Orange Empire Conference Title, finishing the regular season 34-6 overall and 20-1 in conference play. However, it was the Fullerton Hornets who took top honors when the all-conference teams were announced on Thursday at the OEC coaches meeting. 

Fullerton's coaching staff, headed by Marian (Speedy) Mendoza, along with assistant coaches Crystal Aguirre, Celina Gonzalez, Brandon Maurer, and Angelica De'Angelo took home OEC Coaching Staff of the Year honors. They led the Hornets, who finished the season 33-6 overall and 17-4 in conference play, to a second place finish in the OEC. 

Hornets' sophomore Lulu Vasquez was selected as the OEC's Most Valuable Player. Vasquez is no stranger to success as she was the ace pitcher for Cypress College in 2017 when the Chargers won it all going a perfect 48-0. Vasquez was named the conference Pitcher of the Year that season and later earned All-American honors. This season as the conference MVP, Lulu has been stellar on the mound and at the dish. In the circle, she currently has a record of 18-2 and an ERA of 1.50. Vasquez also has 97 strikeouts in 126.1 innings. At the plate, she leads the team in homeruns with 5, has 33 hits (8 doubles), 26 runs, 32 RBI, and is batting .344. 

Cypress ace Janea Brannen earned OEC Pitcher of the Year honors, while the Chargers' Lesley Bojorquez was selected OEC Defensive Player of the Year. Brannen led the conference with 19 wins in the circle this season, to go along with her 113 strikeouts and 2.07 ERA. Bojorquez started all of the Chargers' 40 games this season at shortstop, while making zero errors. 

Complete awards list available below:  


Coaching Staff of the Year: Marian (Speedy) Mendoza, Crystal Aguirre, Celina Gonzalez, Brandon Maurer, Angelica De'Angelo (FULL)

Most Valuable Player: Lulu Vasquez, So. (FULL)

Pitcher of the Year: Janea Brannen, Fr. (CYP)

Defensive Player of the Year: Lesley Bojorquez, Fr. (CYP)


All-OEC First Team

Lesley Bojorquez (CYP)

Rylie Seip (SCC)

Jessica Lopez (FULL)

Karter Williams (RCC)

Nicole Yniguez (SAC)

Veronica Garza (FULL)

Danielle Lopez (RCC)

Kaylee Williamson (FULL)

Gabby Munoz (CYP)

Eliza Sandoval (CYP)

Jeana Gonzales (SAC)


All-OEC Second Team

Anabel Mendez (FULL)

Amanda Campos (CYP)

Cozette Zoch (SCC)

Karlee Rivera (SAC)

Khloe Lilavois (FULL)

Lorena Fitch (RCC)

Jillian Gellatly (SAD)

Bronwyn Jarvis (OCC)

Ashlynn Clifford (SCC)

Madison Taylor (OCC)

Liana Castro (OCC)

Cora Tyo (OCC)


Honorable Mentions: Breanna Ceballos (RCC), Sabrina Anguiano (FULL), Kim MacPherson (CYP), Vanessa Ayala (CYP), Tsianina Flores (SCC), Sarah Rengifo (FULL), Camryn Worsham (GWC), Paige Welk (SAD