Orange Empire Conference Character Champion

The Orange Empire Conference Character Champion Award

Each year, the Orange Empire Conference names one male and female student athlete from each member college to the Character Champion Team while naming overalll winners of the Character Champion Award. The award is given to the student athlete who displays the following values; sportsmanship, respect, caring, fairness, civility, honesty, integrity and responsibility shown through a specific action, ideally directed toward an opponent during competition. The criteria also includes the action of putting the team and teammates before oneself while acting as a positive role model. The inaugural award was given out following the 2009-10 academic year.

Below is the list of 2011-12 OEC Character Champions.

Male Character Champions of the Year
Samuel White - Fullerton College
Kevin Ringuette – Irvine Valley College

Female Character Champions of the Year 
Rachel Burke – Santiago Canyon College
Melanie Kashanchi – Irvine Valley College 


Honorable Mention



Name College Name School
 Jake Clark Cypress  Naomi Perkins  Cypress
 Emmett Kellogg Golden West   Emma Sheehan  Fullerton
 Andrew Cruikshank Orange Coast   Jade Morton  Golden West
 Kevin Wright  Riverside City  Jessica Aguilera  Orange Coast
 Remy Conaster  Saddleback  Christine Luna  Riverside City
 Andy Peterson  Santa Ana  Elizabeth Tepe  Saddleback
 Daniel Jones  Santiago Canyon  Hannah Tucker  Santa Ana