Sydney McCollum of Cypress College Leads All-OEC Selections

Sydney McCollum of Cypress College Leads All-OEC Selections

2017 All-Conference Selections

The Cypress College softball team won their third consecutive Orange Empire Conference title after an undefeated regular season (40-0, 21-0 OEC). The Chargers also took top honors when all-conference teams were announced earlier this week.

Head Coach Brad Pickler, in his 30th season at Cypress, was named Orange Empire Conference Coach of the Year. It is the 17th time that he has received coach of the year honors. He guided the Chargers to the state's No. 1 overall ranking and their 22nd conference title since 1990.

Cypress freshman shortstop Sydney McCollum was selected as the Conference Player of the Year. McCollum led the Orange Empire Conference with a .533 AVG in conference play. She also finished third in the conference with 28 RBI.

Cypress freshman pitcher Destiney Vasquez was selected as the Conference Pitcher of the Year. Vasquez is 23-0 in the circle this season and ranks fourth in the state with a 1.20 ERA.

Fullerton Sophomore Jillian Saiza was selected as the Conference Defensive Player of the Year.

Earning first team honors from Cypress were sophomores Melanie Okazaki, Alexis Zavala, and Vanessa Ledesma. Second place Santiago Canyon had Manoa Weijgertse and Emili Olague selected to the first team.

Santa Ana was represented by Kasey Hutton and Raven Sapla, while Emily Wilcox (RCC), Eryka Springer (FULL), Nelsa Barilea (SADD), and Aeriel Carlson (RCC) rounded out the first team selections. 

Stay connected with the Orange Empire Conference through social media. Follow the OEC on Twitter @SportsOEC. Check in with the Orange Empire on Facebook/SportsOEC.